Tags

, , , , ,

As someone who works out a LOT (Read, every day), I wash my hair every single day. And in one of my recent travels where I had to stay in a tent and camp out in the wilderness, needless to say, there were no showers or my big arsenal of appliances that I use, my straightening iron, my blow-dryers, nothing ! And this distressed me to no end, unsurprisingly… Somehow I managed to find a way to survive that trip (More on that some other time), But when I was shopping for this trip, I went to pretty much every store in Bangalore and couldn’t find dry shampoo anywhere, and the ones I did manage to find were in powder form and extremely expensive, not really worth it for a three day trip.

A few days after my trip, I found an extremely easy recipe for wet-dry shampoo and dry-dry shampoo (that’s what I like to call the dry shampoo in powder form).. And I love it, It work wonderfully and leaves your hair smelling absolutely divine. I use it every day, despite washing my hair, I can’t help it, I love it when my hair smells like vanilla (I don’t think anyone can resist that).

Wet-Dry Shampoo– Works well for both light and dark hair

Here’s what you will need:

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/4 cup rubbing alcohol or vodka
  • 1/4 cup Arrowroot or Cornstarch
  • 2 Tbsp Vanilla Essence

How to make it:

Mix all the ingredients in a small spray bottle and shake well.
And Voila !! Its ready for use.. πŸ™‚

Make sure to shake well before each use, spray on the roots and the oily parts of your hair. Let it dry and style your hair as usual.
(yes, It really is that easy)

Tip: Instead of Vanilla essence, You could use any essential oils of your choice,

Dry-Dry Shampoo– Works best on dark hair

This dry shampoo is in the form of a powder and can be stored in salt/pepper shakers for easy application, or you could store it in a mason jar and apply the dry shampoo with a makeup brush. Personally, I prefer the wet-dry shampoo.

Here’s what you will need:

  • 2 Tbsp Cornstarch or Arrowroot
  • 2 Tbsp Cocoa Powder
  • A big fulffy make-up brush

How to make it:

Mix the cocoa powder and the arrowroot or cornstarch. Store it in a mason jar or a salt shaker or an old powder box, apply onto the scalp with a make-up brush. Comb through hair and style as usual.

Bonus- even if you haven’t had the time to wash your hair, you could still have your hair smelling like chocolate or vanilla or any other such divine scents..

Try it out and let me know how you like it..

Until next time..

xo

Make everyday a good hair day.. πŸ™‚

20131228-223819.jpg

