Dream Catchers and Marlboro

My birthday gift to myself this year was my second tattoo.. I waited three years after my first one before I knew for sure what I wanted etched on my body forever…

So when I understood the significance of dream catchers, I knew that it was most appropriate…

The traditional dream catcher was intended to protect the sleeping individual from negative dreams, while letting positive dreams through. The positive dreams would slip through the hole in the center of the dream catcher, and glide down the feathers to the sleeping person below. The negative dreams would get caught up in the web, and expire when the first rays of the sun struck them.

So this is my charm for life, while I sleep and while I’m awake, this will keep all the evil at bay !!! And it’ll be something that will stay with me for life… And as someone who loves stability and permanence, This one is the most perfect gift I can give myself…

And having sat through a five hour process, which was very painful, the only thing that comforted me was the smell of marlboros in the room, and that always reminds me of my boy in the black suit and blue shirt… I shall call him my Gombe from now on (Gombe means Doll in both our native tongues), since “my boy in the black suit and blue shirt” is quite a mouth full, I quite like this new name !! 🙂

So through what felt like the longest five hours of my life, the smell of marlboros helped me brave it out…

So here’s to dream catchers and marlboros..

Grateful…

xo

2 thoughts on “Dream Catchers and Marlboro

Leave a Reply

