Tags

, , , ,

As I waited for the last few hours of 2015 to finally be done, last evening, there was this niggling feeling of sadness which made me realize that endings always make me feel sad, be it the end of a good movie, the end of a good book, the last bite of my favorite dessert, goodbyes, the end of the year, and so on. Its this feeling where I want to hold on for just a little bit longer, and cherish the moment before it becomes only a memory.

But I also have to admit, that only when there is an ending, there can be another beginning, and the prospect of that is too exiting to feel too sad for too long about endings.. So in the final moments before midnight, I did take the time to acknowledge my sadness, and said my own little goodbye to 2015, a year that will never happen again, and toasted to a new beginning that will be the year 2016.

If there’s one thing that is constant in life, it is change, so I decided last night, as I sipped on my wine, and watched my favorite movie, to do at least one thing that is out of character for my oh so carefully put together self, so I texted the man who has my heart, and did not worry too much about what response that I would get. I know that’s not really earth shattering, but its a start, just like new years day is just a start.. For today, that is exactly enough.

Perhaps, 2016 will  be about taking the chances I have been too afraid to take, or to do things that I have stopped myself from doing, because I was too apprehensive about the end result, instead of just enjoying the process of doing it.

I have to admit, it has been a great start, the status quo that was 2015, and life as we know it has been forever changed (to an extent, at least), and that makes me hopeful.

NY2016

Pic Source- Google Images

Here’s to enjoying the wild roller coaster ride that will be this year.

Happy 2016!!! 🙂

xo

