Effloresce23

Chronicling my thoughts, one post at a time..

Don’t break the Chain

Leave a comment

FullSizeRender

Is there such a thing as a “Bloggers block”? Because I think I am currently struggling through it. I say “think” since I have been writing anyway, but just extremely unsure of the content.

After the mini-makeover I gave my blog earlier this month, I have been having a rather difficult time to think of things to write about. This is weird because I usually just write what I feel. But lately, it has required a LOT of effort. I suppose it is because certain events have happened recently which have made me want to shut down my emotions for a little while. For now, I’m happy being numb, and doing tasks which don’t require feeling too much.

My work, for example – I can work as a Lawyer, extending support to the stakeholders without getting ruffled. Its not personal. The kind of work which is technical and detail oriented AKA time consuming, which means I can spend days before I suddenly feel the need to stop and address what needs to be addressed.

My attempt at writing anyway, despite the dreaded writers block (or the less glamorous emotional block) is because of something I once read, which was Jerry Seinfeld’s advice when he was asked by a young comic named Bras Issac if he had any tips for young comedians. Here’s what he said to the young comic –

He said the way to be a better comic was to create better jokes and the way to create better jokes was to write every day.

He told me to get a big wall calendar that has a whole year on one page and hang it on a prominent wall. The next step was to get a big red magic marker. He said for each day that I do my task of writing, I get to put a big red X over that day.

“After a few days you’ll have a chain. Just keep at it and the chain will grow longer every day. You’ll like seeing that chain, especially when you get a few weeks under your belt. Your only job is to not break the chain.”

Sage advice, really!

And something that has stayed with me for many years.

It applies to anyone – to create a pattern of consistency and devote time to write (or work on developing your own craft). Every day. Without breaking the chain.

After all, it takes years and years of efforts to be an overnight success!

So I figured, consistency is Key. To build anything sustainable, consistently developing and refining it is the ONLY way. And another thing – no one gets to skip this step. It could work sometimes, but consistent action IS the only key to any kind if sustainable success. Life goals should hardly be as limited as “to survive”, it should be “to thrive”.

In the content driven age we live in today, we are surrounded by people who make it look so easy. Showcasing ideas which are so clever, you wish you had thought of them first.

Everything I want to say might have been said already, but I’m going to say them anyway.

xo

Author: Effloresce23

I'm blessed, grateful and happy.

Leave a Reply

