Tagged – 50 Bookish Questions

Image result for 50 bookish questions

So here goes, my most unfiltered answers to 50 questions about books, books and books. Lets do this!

1. What was the last book your read?

The Answers by Allan and Barbara Pease.

2. Was it a good one?

Yes, it came to me at the exact time when I needed it, so I definitely think so.

3. What made it good? 

There were practical take-aways, not just feel good concepts.

4. Would you recommend it to other people? 

Absolutely! If you like non-fiction/self help books, go for it.

5. How often do you read?

Technically, I read all day, every day. Being a Lawyer means you get to read A LOT. For the purpose of this post, I read every chance I get, but definitely at night before I sleep!

6. What was the last bad book you read?

The perks of being a wallflower. I know a lot of people loved it but I really didn’t enjoy it. It continues to be one of the only books to which I have given a 1 star rating on GoodReads.

7. What made you dislike it?

The protagonist who seemed very immature for someone who was supposed to be 16/17 years old. I like books that articulate emotions better. Each time I read the protagonist say something like “I started crying” or “she started crying” (which was a LOT of times), I would cringe. And felt quite glad when I finally managed to finish it.

8. Do you wish to be a writer?

Yes. That is the dream gig.

9. What book has influenced you greatly?

The Secret & The Godfather, in different ways, and for different reasons.

10. Do you read fan-fiction?

Nope. But never say never.

11. What’s your favourite book?

Obviously there’s not JUST one favourite book. But the Godfather by Mario Puzo ranks #1 on my list. I haven’t found a book as epic as this one so far.

Honourable mentions – The devotion of suspect X by Keigo Higashino, The Kite Runner  by Khaled Hosseini and Finding your strength in difficult times by David Viscott.

12. What’s your least favourite book?

As a matter of principle, I tend not to dislike books, but a book that disappointed me was Journey under the midnight sun by Keigo Higashino.

13. Physical books or e-books?

Both. For the joy of turning pages, the old book smell or new book smell, and the romance of reading, Physical books. But for sheer convenience, my Kindle.

14. What was “the book” that made you realise you love reading?

When I was about 10/11 years old, my favourite cousin and I had a book club (we didn’t even know what a book club was, back then), and we would discuss our favourite series, Goosebumps series by RL Stine.

15. Favourite book series?

Goosebumps series by RL Stine, Sweet valley High by Francine Pascal. The books I grew up reading, still has a special place in my heart.

16. Favourite author?

No-brainer! Mario Puzo.

17. Favourite genre?

Lately Non-fiction. But generally YA, Thrillers, Legal drama, anything fast-paced.

18. Favorite character in a book series?

Not from a Book series per se, but all time favourite character is Don Vito Corleone. One of the few literary deaths which made me cry.

19. Which book do you wish had a sequel?

Hmm maybe 1984 set in the present day. It would be a great Non-fiction.

20. Books or movies?

Books.

21. Which movie completely ruined the book?

Paper Towns. I guess I expected more since I absolutely adored the movie adaptation of TFIOS.

22. Which movie was better than the book?

The devil wears Prada, Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Two movies I loved more than the books.

*Gasp*

23. Do you read in the bed? 

Every single night.

24. Do you read in the car?

Yes.

25. Do you read on the toilet?

Eww No.

26. Favourite place to read? 

In bed.

27. Where is the “bookworm heaven”?

Any book store, really. One of my favourites is the old-Bangalore gem called Blossoms Book House.

28. Do you carry a book with you at all times in your bag?

Yes. I thought everyone did!

29. What are you currently reading?

Letters to Véra by Vladimir Nabokov.

30. How do you like it so far?

I love letters. This has been a joy so far.

31. What’s next on your reading list?

The Night Manager by John le Carré.

32. Which author would you die to meet? 

Oscar Wilde.

33. Which author would you want to be best friends with?

Oscar Wilde.

34. Which book have you re-read the most?

The Godfather.

35. Which was your favourite book in high school?

Sweet Valley High.

36. What are some of your favorite classics?

1984 by George Orwell, The importance of being Earnest by Oscar Wilde, As you like it by William Shakespeare.

37. Which author have you been surprised by?

Haruki Murakami.

38. Is your bookshelf taller than you?

I have a “Type”, which apparently applies to my bookshelf as well – Tall, dark and handsome!

39. A popular book you didn’t like?

The Hunger games trilogy.

40. A popular character you didn’t like?

Whats-her-face from the Hunger games trilogy.

41. What is a trope you’re tired of seeing?

Teenagers falling in love with mythical creatures. *spoiler alert* Vampires and werewolves don’t exist, kids!

42. What movie/TV series do you wish was based on a book series?

House of Cards.

43. When was the last you cried while reading a book?

Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse (and not for the reason you think. See #49).

44. How many books are on your bedside table?

Three.

45. Favourite snack while reading?

I don’t snack while reading. Dirty fingers = dirty pages = Unacceptable and I would hate myself!

46. What book did you receive as a present, and you loved?

My parents bought me a new copy of The Godfather, because its my absolute favourite. Does that count?

47. What are your three non-conventional book choices?

Cathy Comics, The hidden life of Trees, and The Kybalion.

48. Have you listened to any audio books?

Its a new development, and I’m pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoy it.

49. Tell us a book confession of yours?

I recently accidentally broke the spine of one of the books I was reading, and it broke my heart (and made me cry).

50. Ten books you would recommend to others?

The Godfather,obviously! But since you’ve come this far, I’ll give you 10 more recommendations. 🙂

Finding your strength in difficult times, The Secret, The Raven, The book of sonnets by William Shakespeare, 1984, The last lecture, The fault in our stars, Catch 22, Roots and The Diary of a young Girl.

So that was my first book tag, Thank you, Nidhi! I really enjoyed writing this post.

xo

Leave a Reply

